ASC Executive Board Meeting Minutes April 21-22, 2012 Chicago, Illinois; Palmer House Hotel

Those in attendance: Bob Agnew, Eric Baumer, Mike Benson, Becky Block, Lisa Broidy, Shawn Bushway, Bonnie Fisher, Colin Loftin, Ross Matsueda, Steve Messner, Nancy Rodriguez, Rob Sampson, Susan Sharp, Eric Stewart, Pam Wilcox, John Wooldredge; Chris Eskridge recorder.

The meeting was called to order by ASC President Rob Sampson at 3:00 pm. The following business transpired:

- 1. The Board voted to give the Presidential Award for Distinguished Contributions to Justice to the Chicago Area Project.
- 2. The Board voted to adjust the narrative regarding the Annual Meeting appearance rule to be:

You may submit only one first author presentation. Ordinarily you may make one other appearance as either a chair or discussant on a panel. Appearances on the program as a co-author, a poster presenter, or a roundtable participant are unlimited. Only original papers that have not been published or presented elsewhere may be submitted to the program committee.

- 3. The Board voted to give the Bloch Award to Julie Horney.
- 4. The Board voted to give the Cavan Award to Andrew Papachristos and Min Xie.
- 5. The Board voted to grant Fellow status to Scott Decker, Marv Krohn, and Mark Warr.
- 6. The Board voted to give the Sellin-Glueck Award to Marc LeBlanc.
- 7. The Board voted to give the Sutherland Award to David Garland.
- 8. The Board voted to give the Vollmer Award to John Goldkamp.
- 9. The Board voted to alter the criteria for the Vollmer Award to be as follows:

The August Vollmer Award recognizes an individual whose scholarship or professional activities have contributed to justice or to the treatment or prevention of criminal or delinquent behavior.

- 10. After the Board Meeting, there was some discussion regarding the revised Vollmer Award narrative. The matter will be reviewed and reconsidered at the next Board Meeting.
- 11. The Board voted to appoint William Bates and Dan Nagin as the next co-editors of Criminology & *Public Policy*.
- 12. The Board approved the creation of the Mentoring Committee, and formally recognized Bonnie Berry for her 20 years of devoted service to the Mentoring Program.
- 13. The Board approved the 2013 Program Committee and Standing Committee lists, as amended.
- 14. The Board voted not to renew our contract with the Raben Group. Our contract with them will expire as of June 30, 2012.
- 15. The Board voted to appropriate a budget of \$2,000 a year to support the Oral History Project, and formally recognized Freda Adler for her long time devotion to the Oral History Project.
- 16. The Board approved the creation of the Division of Victimology.
- 17. The Board approved the creation of an Ad Hoc Institutional Collaboration Committee to solicit and review proposals for a pilot collaboration with BJS. Up to two individuals will be selected who will work collaboratively with BJS for 12 – 18 months. Up to \$6,000 will be set aside for this one-time project. A separate ad hoc committee will be established to evaluate this program in the context of advising whether ASC should become involved in broader institutional collaborations in the future
- 18. The Board approved the revised 2012 budget and established registration fees for the 2012 meetings to be as follows:

Before October 1, 2012 ASC members - \$130 Non-members - \$170 ASC student members - \$50 Student non-member - \$100 After October 1, 2012 ASC members - \$180 Non-members - \$220 ASC student members - \$100 Student non-members - \$110

The meeting adjourned at 1:15 pm on April 22.