ASC EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING MINUTES

April 29 - 30, 2011 Washington D.C. Hilton Hotel

Those in attendance: Eric Baumer, Joanne Belknap, Michael Benson, Karen Heimer, Colin Loftin, Cheryl Maxson, Steve Messner, Jody Miller, Richard Rosenfeld, Robert Sampson, Susan Sharp, Eric Stewart, and Chris Eskridge (Recorder).

The meeting was called to order by ASC President Steven Messner at 3:00 pm, April 29, 2011.

- 1 Steve welcomed those present and gave a brief report on the overall state of ASC, and focused some discussion on the state of the Webb Bill that is now working its way through the U.S. Senate.
- 2 The 2011 Program Co-chairs Eric Baumer and Ryan King gave a progress report regarding the upcoming Washington, D.C. meetings.
- 3 The Executive Director and Treasurer's report was presented. The Society is in a solid fiscal position at present. The Board voted to raise the late meeting registration fees for non-student members and non-student non-members to \$170 and \$210 respectively.
- 4 The award committee reports were reviewed, and the Board voted as follows:
 - a. Bloch Award Henry Pontell
 - b. Cavan Award Derek Kreager
 - c. Fellows Todd Clear, Robert Crutchfield, Alex Piguero, Ralph Taylor
 - d. Presidential Award Linda Greenhouse
 - e. Sellin-Glueck Award Manuel Eisner
 - f. Sutherland Award Ruth Peterson
 - g. Vollmer Award Pat Van Voorhis

The Board emphasized that award decisions will be based n the strength of the nominee qualifications, and not on the number of nominations.

- 5 The Board approved the expenditure of up to \$750 to cover travel costs for our AAAS representative to attend the AAAS annual meetings.
- 6 The Board voted to change Article 5 Section 2 of the By Laws to read "The Editors will supervise selection of materials for the Journals, generally in consultation with other editors. Referee panels for manuscript evaluation and selection will generally be used."

This is the second vote and this now becomes a part of our By Laws.

- 7 The Board received and accepted reports from:
 - a. AAAS Liaison
 - b. COSSA Liaison
 - c. United Nations Liaison
 - d. Policy Committee
 - e. Minority Affairs Committee
 - f. Nominations Committee
 - g. Policy Committee
 - h. Publications Committee
 - i. Student Affairs Committee (and the Mentoring Sub-committee)
 - j. Criminology Editor
 - k. CPP Editor
 - I. Division on Corrections and Sentencing
 - m. Division of Critical Criminology
- 8 The Board voted to make the Chair of the Student Affairs Committee a member of the Program Committee, with responsibility for the Professional Development/Students Meet Scholars area.
- 9 The Board voted to increase the salary of the Executive Director to \$25,000 per year, effective in the year 2011.
- 10 The Board supported the plan to continue the Congressional Luncheons, using a special issue of CPP as our substantive vehicle.
- 11 The Board voted to approve the proposed 2012 standing committees and program committee as submitted by President-Elect Rob Sampson, with some changes/additions to yet be made as needed. The Board will be notified of changes/additions as they are made, with the opportunity to comment when and if necessary.
- 12 By acclamation the Board concluded that when a member of an award committee resigns or is non-responsive, the President may appoint a new member to the said committee.
- 13 The Board voted to approve up to \$15,000 to support the annual meeting program chairs, with the funds to be expended in consultation with the President and the Executive Director, effective in the year 2011.
- 14 The Board voted to approve the amended 2011 budget.

- 15 The Board voted to approve the proposed 2012 budget.
- 16 Some preliminary plans for the 2012 meetings in Chicago were presented.
- 16 Susan Sharp will chair an ad hoc committee charged to craft a proposed Sarah Hall Fellowship and will report to the Board in November.
- 17 The Board decided not to donate \$10,000 each year for the next five years to the Southern Africa Criminological Association.

The meeting adjourned at 12:30 pm on Saturday, April 30, 2011.

Chris Eskridge, Recorder