ASC Executive Board Meeting November 15, 2008 Hyatt Hotel – Directors Row 23 St. Louis Missouri 12:00 p.m.

In attendance - Cheryl Maxson, Richard Rosenfeld, Bob Bursik, Cassia Spohn, Todd Clear, Chris Eskridge, Bonnie Berry, Pat Van Voorhis, David Weisburd, Karen Heimer, Joanne Belknap, Wayne Osgood, Jody Miller, Bonnie Fisher, Cindy Smith, Rosemary Barberet, Kenna Quinet, Vanessa Garcia, and Colby Eisenhart (recorder).

1. Bonnie Berry – ACJS/ASC mentoring program report

Several questions were raised - How much should ACJS and ASC do together? Is it good to have a program of this nature? Would people be willing to participate in this project? This matter will be placed on the April agenda.

- 2. Joanne Belknap nominated Bonnie Fisher to serve as Treasurer. The motion was seconded by Cassia Spohn. The Board voted to approve. Bonnie will now serve a 3 year term in office.
- 3. Todd Clear President's Report

Joanne Belknap moved to approve the proposed 2009 budget, and Cheryl Maxson seconded. The Board voted to approve.

Todd discussed next year's meeting and reviewed the Call for Papers.

- 4. Richard Rosenfeld reviewed the plans for the San Francisco meetings in 2010. Kenna Quinet is program chair for the San Francisco meeting. The co-chair is Crystal Garcia. The theme is Crime and Social Institutions
- 5. The NIJ Reorganization was discussed. Joanne Belknap made a 3 part motion, seconded by David Weisburd:
 - A. That the ASC Board endorse the Jeremy Travis NIJ reorganization proposal.
 - B. That the ASC Board ask the Raben group to work together with ASC to educate key legislative players regarding the necessity of the NIJ reorganization proposal, and ask the Raben Group to make this issue their highest priority.
 - C. That the ASC Board recommend that the Unified Crime Report program be relocated to the new office of Justice Research, Statistics, and Technology at such time that this may prove practical.

The Board voted to pass the motion.

6. Division Reports

Corrections and Sentencing, and Critical Criminology gave oral reports to Chris Eskridge who reported to the board. The International Division report was given by Cindy Smith. Todd Clear discussed selecting someone to fill the alternate two-year assignment as our United Nations representative. Jim Lynch will step aside as the alternate U.N. Representative and in his place the board has appointed Aaron Fichtelberg. Todd will take on the task of working with the U.N Representatives. Division of Color and Crime provided a report to Chris Eskridge who reported to the board. They will provide an electronic copy to the board in a week. The Women and Crime Report was given by Vanessa Garcia

- 7. Chris Eskridge gave a brief overview of the 2008 meeting. Attendance was about 2,400, and social events went well. The Hot Spots will be on Thursdays from now on, and DPCC will assume responsibility for the Friday night minority fellowship entertainment venue. The Vice President will now participate with the President in the Award Ceremony.
- 8. Wayne Osgood reported on the Publications Committee activities. The Committee recommends that Tom Blomberg continue as Editor of CPP for another 3-year term. The Board voted to approve this recommendation. The Board asked David Weisburd and Todd Clear to collaborate on a strategy to improve the level of representation of criminology and criminal justice on the web of science.
- 9. Richard Rosenfeld reported on the Fellows Committee. There was a discussion about letter writing campaigns (which are frowned upon), and some discussion regarding the number of Fellows that should be awarded yearly.
- 10. There are some concerns with the Undergraduate Minority Scholarship Program. Todd Clear and Orlando Rodriguez will meet and report back to the Board in April.
- 11. Todd Clear reported on the ASA Task Force on Criminology and Sociology.
- 12. It was moved by Wayne Osgood and seconded by Bob Bursik that the Board create an Ad Hoc Fiscal Policy Committee to examine the following fiscal issues:
 - A. The size of the fiscal reserve
 - B. Policies regarding the use of funds for initiatives
 - C. Examine the annual budget development process
 - D. Explore the structure and delineation of accounts

The Board approved the creation of this Committee, to be made up of Wayne Osgood as Chair, Bonnie Fisher, John Wright, Gary LaFree and Rick Rosenfeld.

The meeting was adjorned at 4:00 pm.

Colby Eisenhart, Recorder