DIVISION OF COMMUNITIES AND PLACE: ANNUAL REPORT

Submitted by Elizabeth Groff, Division Chair on 4/15/2019

CURRENT BOARD

- Elizabeth Groff Chair
- Paul Bellair Vice-Chair Elect
- Alyssa Chamberlain Secretary-Treasurer
- Greg Zimmerman Awards
- Tara Warner Communication
- Kevin Drakulich Program
- Rebecca Wickes Publication
- Sue-Ming Yang Nomination
- Corina Graif Historian

CONTINUED TO INCREASE MEMBERSHIP

Ended 2018 with 135 members.

ESTABLISHED AND AWARDED TWO DIVISION AWARDS

The DCP is proud to offer two awards to honor members' scholarship: the Robert J. Bursik Junior Scholar Award (for graduate students, assistant professors, or junior employees in non-academic settings recognizes) and the James Short Senior Scholar Award (for Associate or Full Professors, and senior employees in non-academic settings). Each award recognizes the best paper or book published (online or in print) in the past two years by division members.

INAUGURAL WINNERS:

Congratulations to Cody Telep, winner of the Robert J. Bursik Junior Scholar Award for his 2018 article (with Julie Hibdon): "Community Crime Prevention in High-Crime Areas: The Seattle Neighborhood Group Hot Spots Project" in City & Community.

Congratulations to David Weisburd, winner of the James Short Senior Scholar Award for his book: "Place Matters: Criminology for the Twenty-First Century"

HELD FIRST ELECTIONS

Elected Vice-Chair Elect and three Executive Counselors

Paul Bellair, Vice Chair Elect

Sue-Ming Yang, Executive Counselor Elect (Nominations Chair)

Tara Warner, Executive Counselor Elect (Communications Chair)

Greg Zimmerman, Executive Counselor Elect (Awards Chair)

SOLICITED PARTICIPATION FROM A VARIETY OF MEMBERS ON COMMITTEES

AWARDS

Chair Paul Bellair and committee members Joan Antunes, Tom McNulty, Ben Feldmeyer, and Jeff Roth

PROGRAM

Chair Kevin Drakulich and committee members Lyndsay Boggess and Josh Hinkle

PUBLICATION

Chair Rebecca Wickes and committee members Jeff Walker, Casey Harris, Kelly Frailing, Eileen Ahlin, Alexis Harper, Roderick Jones

NOMINATION

Chair Emily Wright and committee members Graham Ousey, Jacob Becker and Tarah Hodgkinson

DIVISION OF COMMUNITIES AND PLACE IN ATLANTA (ASC 2018)

HIGHLIGHTED COMMUNITY AND PLACE RESEARCH

Solicited individual papers and developed 11 thematic panels from them

Compiled list of 34 sessions of interest

THREE SPECIAL PANELS FORMED

State of the Field: Ethnographies of Communities and Place (moderated by Christopher Browning, Ohio State University)

State of the Field: Race and Ethnicity in Communities and Place (moderated by Robert Crutchfield, University of Washington)

Victimization across Communities and Contexts (co-sponsored with the Division of Victimology)

BY-LAW CHANGE

Changed the election of the vice-chair to even number years and the election of the secretary-treasurer to odd number years to even out the elections. This change was voted on by the full board at ASC 2018 and implemented in December 2018. The constitution now reads:

F. Elections

1. Elections of Vice-Chair and three Executive Counselors shall occur in even numbered years. Elections for the Chair, Secretary/ Treasurer, and the other two Executive Counselors shall occur in odd numbered years.